Take the 2-minute tour ×
Database Administrators Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for database professionals who wish to improve their database skills and learn from others in the community. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What is the difference between:

GRANT DELETE ON TABLE1 TO ROLE1

and

GRANT DELETE TO ROLE1

One of our DBAs executed the second version by mistake. I want to be certain I understand all the ramifications.

share|improve this question
    
To Undo: REVOKE DELETE TO ROLE1 –  Gordon Bell Sep 25 '12 at 14:38
    
Wont this remove any other permissions that were correctly assigned before executing that? –  Andrei Dvoynos Sep 25 '12 at 14:41

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

The first is table specific. The second allows deletion from any table

share|improve this answer
    
That's what I thought :S –  Andrei Dvoynos Sep 25 '12 at 14:42

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.