4

I modified a maintenance plan yesterday, to find out this morning (by using the last modified date from sysjobs) that all jobs related to the maintenance plan are disabled.

I can't figure out why this may be. The SQL Job Owner is sa and I merely changed a maintenance clean-up task with the maintenance plan and saved the job.

  • Did you check the time of those disabled jobs? were they disabled during same time when modifications were done on maintenance task? – KASQLDBA May 8 '15 at 9:58
  • Hi - Yes I have. There were 5 jobs all linked to the maintenance plan which were all disabled within half a second at around the same time I was making changes to the maintenance plan. – hpk89 May 8 '15 at 10:25
  • Ok, so when changes were made and you saved the job, did you see the owner of those jobs attached to that common modified maintenance plan getting changed to some default ? – KASQLDBA May 8 '15 at 10:32
  • Nope - The job owner is sa which would not be the account which originally set up the maintenance plan. I've been able to replicate the issue and its only when I save the maintenance plan remotely from SSMS 2012 the issue occurs. If I log onto the box and use SSMS 2005 the jobs are not disabled - odd! – hpk89 May 8 '15 at 11:05
  • I believe you are logged in with sa when trying to modify the job, so when you save the job, it takes the account logged in when you are taking remotely. so since owner got changed and since sa account would have been disabled the job shows disable. However when you log onto the box, it would not be sa, so jobs didnt got disabled. – KASQLDBA May 8 '15 at 11:32
2

You haven't done anything wrong or gone crazy - it's a known bug and we've experienced the same thing.

Our process was changed that we would script out job status and reapply after any maintenance plan work - until we could move off of maintenance plans entirely (which we did).

Continuing on from the comments on the main question, there is an owner associated with the package itself which then gets copied over to the jobs and there's no UI to change it (you can modify it directly in the MSDB package tables though!)

We remediated that later on but I am unaware if there's a link between that referenced login disappearing and the jobs being disabled. It's possible.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.