Grants and Revokes of Privileges to and from the PUBLIC Role
You can grant and revoke privileges and roles from the role PUBLIC.
Because PUBLIC is accessible to every database user, all privileges
and roles granted to PUBLIC are accessible to every database user. By
default, PUBLIC does not have privileges granted to it.
Security administrators and database users should grant a privilege or
role to PUBLIC only if every database user requires the privilege or
role. This recommendation reinforces the general rule that, at any
given time, each database user should have only the privileges
required to accomplish the current group tasks successfully.
Revoking a privilege from the PUBLIC role can cause significant
cascading effects. If any privilege related to a DML operation is
revoked from PUBLIC (for example, SELECT ANY TABLE or UPDATE ON emp),
then all procedures in the database, including functions and packages,
must be reauthorized before they can be used again. Therefore, be
careful when you grant and revoke DML-related privileges to or from
If you do not use the above packages, it will not have any impact on your application.