Hope someone can help me on this one.
I have created by mistake an additional data file in the incorrect file group, I need to either remove the file completely or move the file to the default file group. Looks like changing files from one file group to another is not possible?
The data file is empty so I tried removing the file using alter DB remove file, when I run DBCC showfilestats, the file is gone, but when I check SYS.master_files, I can see still the entry of the file I want removed. Is there a way to remove it completely, even deleting it physically from the server as I need to recover the space?
Kind regards, Jose.