1

I am using pgadmin v4.22 to backup and restore a database. This works fine the first time, but when I want to restore it again to a backup with deleting the old data, pgAdmin seems to ignore the Clean before restore setting. I end up with multiple identical entries.

This is what I am doing: Right click on the database, and click on Restore...

Then I select myBackup.backup and set Role name to postgres.

In the Restore options tab I activate:

Sections: Data
Queries: Clean before restore

When clicking on restore, it succeeds in about 1.5 seconds for a 9 MB backup. This is the log:

pg_restore: connecting to database for restore
pg_restore: implied data-only restore
pg_restore: processing data for table "public.myTable"
pg_restore: executing SEQUENCE SET some_number_seq

It does not mention any clean step. When I query the database I have identical entries now.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.