As we know, the default database restore option is with Recovery which ensures the database is available and Online for use after completion of database restore.
RESTORE DATABASE YourDB FROM DISK= 'C:\\Data\\YourDBBackup.bak'
Let’s see the important points about Restore with NO Recovery
- Database is not usable
- Remains in restore mode
- Next restore sequence can be done
- Doesn’t rollback any uncommitted transactions
Restore With NoRecovery
This option especially used when multiple backup are to be restored. It means, when you execute the restore command with norecovery option that means, the database is not released to the users until last backup in sequence is restored. With last backup, the Recovery option is used and database goes online.
RESTORE DATABASE YourDB FROM DISK - 'C:\\Data\\Backup_part1.bak'
RESTORE LOG YourDB FROM DISK = 'C:\\Data\\BackupLog-part2.trn'