Skip to main content

information schema : ODBC standard Views of RDBMS MetaData

The information schema for a Database consists of MetaData objects that define the following:

  • Tables
  • Fields or Columns
  • Indexes
  • Relationships
  • Procedures
  • Functions
  • Triggers
  • Packages
  • Types
  • Sequences
  • Views

Depending on the RDBMS, the information schema could have more object classes for holding XML schemas, synonyms, materialized views, events, and more.

Oracle (preferably known as Schema Objects), SQL Server, PostgreSQL, MySQL and other RDBMS's feature these objects either as all-memory entities or as physically instantiated files.